No food waste recipe: Sour milk pancakes

Sour milk pancakes

Skip to the recipe

A while ago, I was telling you about our zero waste milk routine and how, as a result, we ended up having to deal with sour milk from time to time. After a few more tries, I have perfected (or rather simplified) the recipe of my sour milk pancakes and I wanted to share it with you. Since the sour milk was supposed to make the dough raise, I didn’t see why I also needed to put baking powder and baking soda. So I tried without it. Although the result is more a thick crepe than a pancake, it is super nice and I don’t see why I would need the extra ingredients.

pancake.png

In the meantime, I also tried to make ricotta like cheese. I basically warmed the sour milk until it made curds and filtered it with a clean piece of cloth. It was quite fun, and the best part is that the whey can be frozen (I don’t have energy to make the dough straight after making the cheese) and used to make the pancake recipe later. The result is softer and sweeter than with the sour milk. Since neither of us is a huge fan of the resulting cheese, I would need to use it in a recipe to be worth the extra work, but last night we tried spinach and ricotta lasagna and this could be a good use for it in the future.

IMG_0463


Sour milk pancakes

Ingredients

For each cup of sour milk or whey (makes about 10 pancakes):

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tea spoon of sugar
  • 1 pinch of salt

Mix all the ingredients in this order. Let the dough rise between 1 hour and one night. The dough is ready to make pancakes.

2 thoughts on “No food waste recipe: Sour milk pancakes”

  1. Oh wow, never knew sour milk could still be used for something… Cool. Now I still hope to never have sour milk. Does it work with soy milk too, do you know?

    Like

Leave a Reply

