No-food-waste recipe: Parsley salad

Skip directly to the recipe

I love getting a weekly fruit and veggie box. It frees so much time by limiting major groceries to every 2-3 weeks and it ensures we eat well. But it means that we have to get a bit creative not to waste food. Recently they gave us quite a bit of parsley, and I was not sure how to use all of it. As a happy coincidence, it is the week Pioneering the simple life chose to share a parsley pesto recipe. I thought this was the perfect way to conserve our parsley, so I set up to do my own version of it (I’m very bad at following recipes 😉 ).

img_0667

After spending some time chopping the parsley, garlic cloves and almonds, our blender refused to work. Not a big surprise since I got it second hand and it was quite old, but I had already mixed everything together and I was a bit upset at the idea that I wasted time and ingredients. This is when I thought about saving everything as a salad. After all, this is kind of the idea behind Lebanese tabbouleh. It turned out pretty nice. 


 Parsley salad recipe

Serves two

Ingredients 

  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • the juice of half a lemon
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 10 almonds
  • olive oil
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 pinch of pepper
  • seasonal and/or fermented vegetables (tomato, carrot, beetroot, sauerkraut …)

Put almonds to soak in water. It is supposed to reactivate the enzymes that went dormant when the seed dried. It makes it easier to absorb all the good nutrients of the almond. In any case, it makes the almond softer. Anything from 20 min to overnight is good. Since I rarely plan meals in advance, I normally just put them to soak when I start cooking and prepare all the rest first.

Chop the garlic, the parsley and the almonds. Add the lemon.

Clean, cut and add the rest of the vegetables. Put salt, pepper and olive oil to taste.

If you are not too starving, let it macerate a bit in the fridge.


The first time I used tomatoes and fermented beetroot. You can tell we are in Spain, because we get tomatoes every week from a company that sells seasonal organic veggies. I wish they would put something else though cause they are not so tasty at the moment.  

img_0668

Since last week we got parsley again, I made the salade again, replacing the fermented beetroot by homemade sauerkraut! I am pretty exited about this. I made it to prevent a cabbage to go to waste. It doesn’t look like I expected, but it is super nice. 

img_0669

Leave a comment